top of page
  • Writer's pictureinsidethekitchenwithmaya

Gai Tom Ka(soup from Thailand)

This is an exceptional soup from Thailand, the equivalent to a chicken noodle soup in America. Special for its exotic ingredients and flavours which can be found at an oriental market. I will be honest when I say I was not sure if I was going to like the taste when I saw Pam make this soup but when I tasted it I could not stop eating it. I rushed home and instead of working I just ate the soup instead of saving some for my mom. Of course, I have to give credit to Pam for sharing her recipe.



Here it is:

This is for 12 servings, the preparation for this soup is 20 minutes but 55 minutes in cooking time.

Ingredients:

-2 liters of chicken broth

-1 liters of coconut milk

-7 tablespoons of fish sauce

-9 tablespoons of fresh lime juice

-7 cm peeled galangal, cut into chunks

-5 stalks lemongrass, both ends trimmed, cut into chunks

-7 fresh kaffir lime leaves, half slice in center of each

-1 cup of thinly sliced onion

-2 tablespoons of palm sugar, pressed(if you cannot find it you can use brown sugar)

-2 tablespoons finely chopped garlic

-4 large skinless, boneless chicken breasts, chopped into bite size pieces

-fresh coriander, chopped finely and red pepper/capsicum, thinly sliced(for garnish)

-straw mushrooms, halved(optional)



Instructions:

To start off in a large stock pot pour chicken broth and coconut milk and begin heating over medium heat. Then add fish sauce and lime juice. Add galangal, lemongrass, lime leaves, palm sugar, garlic, and onion. Heat until just boiling then reduce heat to low and simmer for 30 minutes. Adjust the balance of salty(fish sauce), sweet(sugar), and sour(lime juice)to taste. 15 minutes before serving add chicken chunks and straw mushrooms(optional) and cook until chicken is just tender. Serve in individual bowls, remove large chunks of lemongrass, galangal, and lime leaves. Sprinkle with coriander leaves an add red pepper for garnish.


17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page