top of page
  • Writer's pictureinsidethekitchenwithmaya

Cheese and lettuce omelet

A cheese and lettuce omelet might sound weird, I even think it does but it sure tastes good. I usually just make up my own omelet/scrambled eggs recipes on the spot and I decided to write/record the recipe for this one I made at my grandma's house.

Here is the recipe:

Ingredients

-3 eggs

-1/4 cup of lettuce(does not have to really be pretty precise)

-1/2 cup of grated/chopped cheese(try to use good quality)

-dash of salt and pepper for the taste

-2 tbs of olive oil

-5 basil leaves

Instructions:

In a medium-size bowl whisk the eggs, add 1/4 cup of the cheese, all the lettuce and the salt and pepper. Mix well. In a saucepan on medium heat with olive oil spread on it add the egg mixture. Let cook until the sides start to look really cooked then add the basil leaves on top, trying to spread them everywhere on your omelet. Sprinkle the rest of the cheese on your omelet and when it looks even more cooked try to take one side and flip it over onto the other side. This is the hardest step and I sort of screwed it up when I did it(you can see that if you watch my video) but as long as you fix it you are good to go. Let it cook for a little longer until there is absolutely no liquid on your pan from the runny eggs. But make sure to not cook it for too long that won't be good. It is nice to serve it with a piece of bread and a sprinkle of olive oil and a small pinch of salt and pepper.


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Anzac Biscuits from Australia

Oat like cookies, sorte of breakfast cookie it's Anzac biscuits. A perfect simple cookie originating from Australia with an interesting backstory. Back in World War 1 these treats were made by the wiv

bottom of page