top of page
  • Writer's pictureinsidethekitchenwithmaya

Swiss Chocolates to try

A love for chocolate and Switzerland. A little background info on me, I am actually Swiss but my mom is American, my dad is German but I lived in Switzerland for 11 years, went to public school, speak the language, etc. The food means a lot to me and I grew up eating it and discovering it, I still love it to this day and I think that Swiss food, in general, is quite underrated. Here are my top Swiss chocolates that I think everyone should try.

Number 1: Toblerone

Toblerone is in my top 3 favorite chocolates. They are made in one factory in Bern which is where they originally come from. Its triangular form makes it divergent to the other chocolates. Why do they have that shape? It is an unanswered question, there is a theory that says it was inspired by the Matterhorn. The different kinds of Toblerone are the original, one with Fruit and Nut using raisins for a change. Dark which is simply using less sugar obviously. White chocolate adds a different flavor.

Number 2: Lindt

Invented in 1945, known for their ball shape and bars. At first, they were a small boutique run by a son and father. Their names were David Sprüngli-Schwarz and Rudolph Sprüngli-Schwarz. Later on, a man called Rodoph Lindt join their boutique and started working with them. They decided to incorporate his name in the name and said "Lindt and Spügli", through time it just became Lindt.

Number 3: Ovalmatine

Sure the chocolate is good but has anyone ever told you about Ovalmatin crunch the spread. So delicious I can hardly believe it. I don't have it in my house because I would eat it all the time. Try ovalmatine normal chocolate but also the spread.



49 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Anzac Biscuits from Australia

Oat like cookies, sorte of breakfast cookie it's Anzac biscuits. A perfect simple cookie originating from Australia with an interesting backstory. Back in World War 1 these treats were made by the wiv

bottom of page